Logo: University of Southern California

Team Led By Ming Hsieh EE Student Scott Moeller Wins Best Paper Award

April 14, 2010 —

Bhaskar Krishnamachari's research group, with Ph.D. student Scott Moeller as the principal author, received the Best Paper Award for the information processing (IP) track at the 9th ACM/IEEE International Conference on Information Processing in Sensor Networks (IPSN, April 2010).

The IP track is the larger of two tracks at this conference. IPSN is considered one of the premiere conferences in the area of sensor networks; it is a highly competitive venue, with an acceptance rate of about 17% this year for the IP track. The other co-authors of this paper were Avinash Sridharan (arecent graduated Ph.D. student, now at Ericsson), Bhaskar Krishnamachari, and Omprakash Gnawali (a recent graduated Computer Science Ph.D. student from Ramesh Govindan's group, now doing a post-doc at Stanford).

“I'm particularly proud of Scott's hard work on this paper, which was nearly two years in the making. It describes one of the first real implementations of an emerging new breed of high-performance network protocols that are based on an elegant theoretical stochastic optimization framework. Not coincidentally, one of the pioneers of that theoretical framework is our own Mike Neely, whose work directly inspired this paper,” said Krishnamachari.

 Learn More >>