Logo: University of Southern California

Prasanna Wins AAAs Honors

January 12, 2010 —

Viktor Prasanna (EE-S, CS)and two other Viterbi School faculty are now Fellows of the American Society for the Advancement of Science.

" The election of Mike, Shri and Viktor as AAAS Fellows is a great testament to their caliber and accomplishments and reflects highly on the whole faculty of the Viterbi School." said Dean Yannis C. Yortsos. "I cannot be more pleased with their recognition, which is surely only one of many to come."

Prasanna, who holds the Charles Lee Powell Chair in Engineering, is professor in the Department of Computer Science and the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering Computer Engineering Division, specializing in advanced computing systems. He is co-director of the Center for Research and Education in Advanced Software Technologies (CAST), funded by Infosys Technologies, and is a major contributor to the Center for Interactive Smart Oilfield Technologies. The AAAS award salutes his “distinguished contributions to the field of parallel and distributed computing, in particular, reconfigurable computing, and for building a vibrant international community in this area.”

The AAAS also named as Fellows Peter Jones and Michael Stallcup of the Keck School of Medicine of USC. The five USC faculty members will be among 531 scientists and engineers honored February 20, 2010 at the Fellows Forum of the 2010 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Diego.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Members are considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering group of their respective sections, by three Fellows, or by the association's chief executive officer. The AAAS Council votes on the final list. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the prestigious journal Science. The society was founded in 1848 and includes more than 250 affiliated societies and academies of science serving 10 million individuals.