Logo: University of Southern California

Timothy Pinkston of the Ming Hsieh EE Faculty was Elected IEEE Fellows

Alexander Sawchuk, Systems Chair of the Ming Hsieh Department
December 19, 2008 —

Three faculty members from the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering - Shri Narayanan, Timothy Pinkston and Steven B. Sample - were recently elected Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
(IEEE) Fellows.

Timothy M. Pinkston joined USC in 1993, and is now Professor of Electrical Engineering. From January 2006 through December 2008 he was on leave as Lead Program Director in the Computing and Communication Foundations Division of the Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) Directorate of the National Science Foundation (NSF). He received his B.S. in electrical engineering from The Ohio State University in 1985, and the M.S. and Ph.D. from Stanford University in electrical engineering in 1986 and 1993 respectively. His research concerns the design of high-performance communication architectures for parallel computer systems, including interconnection networks, network characterization, adaptive and reconfigurable routing algorithms, router design and implementation. He also studies on-chip networks, opto-electronic interconnect architectures and the performance analysis, simulation and empirical analysis, formal and theoretical analysis of message blocking and deadlock. His awards and honors include an NSF Career Award and a Distinguished Alumnus Award from the College of Engineering and the Minority Engineering Program of the Ohio State University. His citation as IEEE Fellow notes his "contributions to design and analysis of interconnection networks and routing algorithms."

The IEEE Fellow title honors people with outstanding professional and technical achievements in the broad fields of electrical engineering.
IEEE is the leading technical organization in these fields, with 39 professional societies and publication of 128 transactions, journals and magazines representing a wide spectrum of technical interests. The organization traces its history to 1884 and has approximately 365,000 members in over 150 countries.

“The election of Shri Narayanan, Timothy Pinkston and Steven B. Sample as IEEE Fellow is a recognition of their accomplishments and stature in research and education,” said Alexander (Sandy) Sawchuk, systems chair of the Ming Hsieh Department. “This is an outstanding achievement and the faculty in our department join me in congratulating them."